Step 1:Download and install the Java Development Kit (JDK). Download Windows 32-bit (x86) version or Windows 64-bit (x64) version .
Step 2:Download and install the Android SDK.
For complete details visit
http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing.htmlNOTE: DO NOT install the android sdk in a directory on your computer that has spaces
Step 3:Download and install an IDE for Java Developers. Eclipse IDE is the best one for windows, recommended by Android. You can download either "Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers" or "Eclipse ISE for Java Developers". Java EE has got more features but a little more bigger in space, but that doesn't matter. Download Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developer: Windows 32-bit (x86) version or Windows 64-bit (x64)
Step 4:After installing Eclipse, you'll need to download and install the "ADT plugin". To do this, open up Eclipse and go to Help > Install new software... Click on Add. For Name:, write ADT Plugin and for Location:, type
https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/. If that doesn't work, for Location:, type
http://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/. Click OK .
Step 5:After the ADT plugin is installed. you need to locate the Android SDK in Eclipse. To do this, go to Window > Prefrences and click on / highlight Android. Under SDK Location:, browse to your android sdk directory where you installed the sdk
.
Step 6:Create an AVDTo create an AVD:
In Eclipse, choose Window > Android SDK and AVD Manager.
Select Virtual Devices in the left panel.
Click New.
The Create New AVD dialog appears.
Type the name of the AVD, such as "my_avd".
Choose a target. The target is the platform (that is, the version of the Android SDK, such as 2.1) you want to run on the emulator.
You can ignore the rest of the fields for now.
Click Create AVD.
Step 7:
Create a New Android ProjectAfter you've created an AVD, the next step is to start a new Android project in Eclipse.
From Eclipse, select File > New > Project.
If the ADT Plugin for Eclipse has been successfully installed, the resulting dialog should have a folder labeled "Android" which should contain "Android Project". (After you create one or more Android projects, an entry for "Android XML File" will also be available.)
Select "Android Project" and click Next.
http://developer.android.com/resources/tutorials/images/hello_world_0.pngFill in the project details with the following values:
Project name: HelloAndroid
Application name: Hello, Android
Package name: com.example.helloandroid (or your own private namespace)
Create Activity: HelloAndroid
Click Finish.
For complete installation procedure required and for making a sample android application visit the link
http://developer.android.com/resources/tutorials/hello-world.html.